The Hometown Weekly for all your latest local news and updates! Over 25 Years of Delivering Your Hometown News!  

Medfield High trio named TVL MVP

[ccfic caption-text format="plaintext"]

By Josh Perry
Hometown Weekly Staff

It was another outstanding winter for the Medfield High athletics program, as the boys’ hockey team made history by winning its first ever state championship, while the boys’ basketball team clinched a Tri-Valley League title and the girls’ basketball team added another trip to the Div. 2 Central final.

The girls’ hockey team made it to the Div. 2 quarterfinals for the second year in a row with a roster largely composed of underclass-men and the gymnastics team qualified for sectionals and finished fifth in another stellar year for the program.

With Medfield teams excelling this winter, it is no surprise that a number of players were honored for their individual success, including three players who claimed TVL MVP awards in their respective sports.

Senior John Williams won the MVP in boys’ basketball as Big Blue’s leading scorer and by helping the team reach the Div. 2 Central semifinal. His classmate John MacLean was also named TVL MVP after leading the Warriors to a league title. He adds that to the MVP that he won last spring for the boys’ lacrosse team.

Sophomore standout Maggie McCarthy also was named MVP for girls’ basketball. Although, the Warriors finished second to Westwood in the league, McCarthy was recognized for being the league’s top player and one of the best in the area.

The following list of all-stars was provided by the Medfield High Athletic Department:

Boys Basketball - John Williams (MVP and first team), Jack Madej (second team)

Girls Basketball - Maggie McCarthy (MVP and first team), Lauren Casieri (second team)

Boys Hockey - John MacLean (MVP and first team), Matt Treiber (first team), Brian Abely (second team), Jonathan Seibel (second team), head coach Toby Carlow (Boston Globe Div. 2 Coach of the Year)

Girls Hockey - Grace Crowell, Maya Mangiafico, Sophia Merageas, Becca Brown, Meredith Cox (all SEMGHL all-stars)

Boys Indoor Track - Andrew Garfield (first team), Matt Johnson (second team)

Girls Indoor Track - Theresa Beardsley (second team), Abi Todd (second team), Sydney Joline (second team)

Swimming and Diving - Andrew Maritan (first team), Wesley Fedak (second team), Sam Johnson (second team), Peter Barrette (honorable mention), Dylan Hogan (honorable mention), William Maritan (honorable mention); Olivia Tom (second team), Katherine Barrett (honorable mention), Kayla Scott (honorable mention), Jasmine Chan (honorable mention), Jordan Wilson (honorable mention)

Josh Perry is an Editor at Hometown Weekly. He can be reached at and followed on Twitter at @Josh_Perry10.

Comments are closed.